Joanna Cherry re-elected as Edinburgh South-West MP

Joanna Cherry will return as the Member of Parliament for Edinburgh South West, after she was elected with a majority of 1097, holding the seat for the Scottish National Party.

Joanna Cherry obtained 17,575 votes, 35.6% of the vote defeating Conservative’s Miles Edward Frank Briggs who obtained 16,478 votes, 33.4% of the vote, Labour’s Foysol Hussain Choudhury who obtained 13,213 votes, 26.8% of the vote and the Liberal Democrats’ Aisha Jawaid Mir  2,124 votes, 4.3% of the vote.

There were 71,178 people who voted making the turnout 69.5% which was down from the 72,149 and 71.6% turnout of the 2010 election.

Edinburgh South West is one of 35 won by the Scottish National Party in Scotland with the Conservative Party winning 13 seats, the Labour Party 7 seats and the Liberal Democrats 4 seats.

As of the time of writing only Kensington was still to declare. The current results for the whole of the UK are the Conservative Party have 318 seats, the Labour Party 261 seats, The Scottish National Party 35 seats, Liberal Democrat 12 seats, the Democratic Unionist Party 10 seats, Sinn Fein 7 seats, Plaid Cymru 4 seats and the Green Party 1 seat.

You can find detailed information on the election results across the city on the council’s website.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.