Joanna Cherry wins Edinburgh South-West

Clovenstone Amateur Boxing Club Alex Salmond SNP

Joanna Cherry will be the next Member of Parliament for Edinburgh South West, after she was elected with a majority of 8,135, switching the seat to the Scottish National Party from the Labour Party.

Joanna Cherry obtained 22,168 votes, 43.0% of the vote defeating Labour’s Ricky Henderson who obtained 14,033 votes, 27.2% of the vote, Conservative’s Gordon Lindhurst who obtained 10,444 votes, 20.2% of the vote, Green Party’s Richard Doherty with 1,965 votes and 3.8% of the vote, Liberal Democrats’ Dan Sykes 1,920 votes, 3.7% of the vote and UKIP’s Richard Lucas who received 1,072 votes, 2.1% of the vote.

Clovenstone Amateur Boxing Club Alex Salmond SNP Joanna Cherry Craig Mcewan

There were 72,149 people who voted making the turnout 71.6% which was up from the 66,361 and 68.6% turnout of the 2010 election.

The seat which had been held by Labour since 2005 is one of the fifty seats which has switched to the SNP as they now control fifty-six of the fifty-nine Scottish seats in Westminster. The three remaining seats not held by the SNP are Edinburgh South, held by Labour,  Orkney and Shetland, held by the Liberal Democrats and Dumfriesshire, Clydesdale & Tweeddale, held by the Conservatives.

At the time of writing this there was only St Ives to declare, the results of the election being 330 seats for the Conservatives, 232 for the Labour Party, 56 for the SNP, 8 for the Liberal Democrats, 1 for the Green Party, 1 for UKIP and 20 for other parties. The Conservative party obtained the needed 326 seats to create a majority government meaning a Conservative victory and causing leaders Ed Milliband, Nick Clegg and Nigel Farage resign.

You can find detailed information on the election results across the city on the council’s website.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.