Edinburgh Candidates For Council Elections Announced

Details have been announced of the 120 candidates standing across Edinburgh’s 17 wards in the Local Government Elections on 4 May.

Nominations for candidates closed on Wednesday 29 March 2017. Following the recent changes from the Scottish Boundary Commission all of Wester Hailes is now located in the Pentland Hills ward.

2: Pentland Hills (4 councillors to be elected)

BRUCE, Graeme – Scottish Conservative and Unionist
FARTHING, Emma – Scottisih Liberal Democrats
GARDINER, Neil – Scottish National Party (SNP)
HENDERSON, Ricky – Scottish Labour Party
NOREIKIENEk, Ernesta – Scottish National Party (SNP)
WEBBER, Susan – Scottish Conservative and Unionist
WESTON, Evelyn – Scottish Green Party

A full map of the new ward can be found on the Council website. Here is what the new Boundary in Wester Hailes looks like:

Annotations made to Open Street Map © OpenStreetMap contributors

The nominated candidates for each ward are listed in full below and on the Council website:

1: Almond (4 councillors to be elected)

FRASER, Daniel – Scottish Libertarian Party
HUTCHISON, Graham – Scottish Conservative and Unionist
LANG, Kevin – Scottish Liberal Democrats
LONGSTAFF, John – Independent
MCKINNON-WADDELL, Iain – Scottish Green Party
MITCHELL, Pamela – Scottish National Party (SNP)
WHITEHEAD, Bruce – Scottish Labour Party
WORK, Norman – Scottish National Party (SNP)
YOUNG, Louise – Scottish Liberal Democrats

3: Drum Brae/Gyle (3 councillors to be elected)

ALDRIDGE, Robert Christopher – Scottish Liberal Democrats
BRIDGMAN, Claire – Scottish National Party (SNP)
BROWN, Mark – Scottish Conservative and Unionist
KEIL, Karen Ann – Scottish Labour Party
MEYER, Phyl – Scottish Green Party

4: Forth (4 councillors to be elected)

BIRD, Eleanor – Scottish National Party (SNP)
CAMPBELL, Jim – Scottish Conservative and Unionist
DAY, Cammy – Scottish Labour Party
GORDON, George – Scottish National Party (SNP)
MACKAY, Gillian – Scottish Green Party
PUGH, Heather – Scottish Labour Party
ROSS, Nicola – Independent
WIGHT, Tim – Scottish Liberal Democrats

5: Inverleith   (4 councillors to be elected)

BAGSHAW, Nigel – Scottish Green Party
BARRIE, Gavin – Scottish National Party (SNP)
DALGLEISH, James – Scottish Labour Party
LAIRD, Tom – Scottish Libertarian Party
MITCHELL, Max – Scottish Conservative and Unionist
OSLER, Hal – Scottish Liberal Democrats
WHYTE, Iain – Scottish Conservative and Unionist
WOOLNOUGH, Tina – Independent

6: Corstorphine/Murrayfield (3 councillors to be elected)

DOUGLAS, Scott – Scottish Conservative and Unionist
GLOYER, Gillian – Scottish Liberal Democrats
NEVENS, Kate – Scottish Green Party
ROSS, Frank – Scottish National Party (SNP)
SCOTT, John Ferguson – Independent
WHITELAW, June – Scottish Labour Party

7: Sighthill/Gorgie (4 councillors to be elected)

DIXON, Denis – Scottish National Party (SNP)
FULLERTON, Catherine – Scottish National Party (SNP)
GRACZYK, Ashley – Scottish Conservative and Unionist
HAYTER, Simon – Scottish National Party (SNP)
HEAP, Dan – Scottish Green Party
SCOBIE, Devin Scott – Scottish Liberal Democrats
SMITH, Carmel – Scottish Labour Party
STRANGE, Calum – Scottish Libertarian Party
WILSON, Donald – Scottish Labour Party

8: Colinton/Fairmilehead (3 councillors to be elected)

ARTHUR, Scott – Scottish Labour Party
DOGGART, Phil – Scottish Conservative and Unionist
LEWIS, Richard John – Scottish National Party (SNP)
MARSDEN, Sara – Scottish Green Party
RUST, Jason – Scottish Conservative and Unionist
WALKER, David Richard – Scottish Liberal Democrats

9: Fountainbridge/Craiglockhart (3 councillors to be elected)

CORBETT, Gavin – Scottish Green Party
JOHNSTON, Andrew – Scottish Conservative and Unionist
KEY, David – Scottish National Party (SNP)
LANG, Jenni – Scottish Liberal Democrats
SUBRAMANI, Rojan – Independent
WIMBERLEY, Anne – Scottish Labour Party

10: Morningside (4 councillors to be elected)

COOK, Nick – Scottish Conservative and Unionist
HOWAT, Sandy – Scottish National Party (SNP)
LAND, Chris – Scottish Conservative and Unionist
MAIN, Melanie – Scottish Green Party
ROSS, Neil – Scottish Liberal Democrats
WATT, Mandy – Scottish Labour Party

11: City Centre (4 councillors to be elected)

DORAN, Karen – Scottish Labour Party
MILLER, Claire – Scottish Green Party
MOWAT, Jo – Scottish Conservative and Unionist
RANKIN, Alasdair – Scottish National Party (SNP)
SIDOR, Peter – Scottish Libertarian Party
STEVENS, David – Scottish Liberal Democrats

12: Leith Walk (4 councillors to be elected)

DONALDSON, Marion – Scottish Labour Party
GARDNER, Nick – Scottish Labour Party
JACOBSEN, David Don – Socialist Labour Party
MARGA, Cristina – Scottish Conservative and Unionist Party
McNEESE-MECHAN, Amy – Scottish National Party (SNP)
MELVILLE, Alan Gordon – Independent
RAE, Susan – Scottish Green Party
RITCHIE, Lewis – Scottish National Party (SNP)
TOBERMANN, Harald – Independent
ZAPOROZCENKO, Vita – Scottish Liberal Democrats

13: Leith (3 councillors to be elected)

BOOTH, Chas – Scottish Green Party
DIJKSTRA-DOWNIE, Sanne – Scottish Liberal Democrats
McVEY, Adam – Scottish National Party (SNP)
MUNRO, Gordon John – Labour and Co-operative Party
PENMAN, Paul – Scottish Conservative and Unionist

14: Craigentinny/Duddingston (4 councillors to be elected)

CAMPBELL, Ian – Scottish National Party (SNP)
GRIFFITHS, Joan – Labour and Co-operative Party
HADFIELD, Patrick – Scottish Liberal Democrats
LUNN, Alex – Scottish National Party (SNP)
MARTIN, Lyndsay – Labour and Co-operative Party
MCLELLAN, John – Scottish Conservative and Unionist
STANIFORTH, Alex – Scottish Green Party
WADHWA, Mridul – Scottish National Party (SNP)

15:  Southside/Newington (4 councillors to be elected)

BURGESS, Steve – Scottish Green Party
DICKIE, Alison – Scottish National Party (SNP)
FARTHING, Dan – Scottish Liberal Democrats
PERRY, Ian – Scottish Labour Party
ROSE, Cameron – Scottish Conservative and Unionist

16: Liberton/Gilmerton (4 councillors to be elected)

CAMERON, Lezley Marion – Scottish Labour Party
HOWIE, Derek – Scottish National Party (SNP)
KNOX, John Christopher – Scottish Liberal Democrats
MACINNES, Lesley – Scottish National Party (SNP)
NICHOL, John – Scottish Green Party
POGSON, Tim – Scottish Labour Party
SMITH, Stephanie – Scottish Conservative and Unionist

17: Portobello/Craigmillar (4 councillors to be elected)

BRIDGMAN, Mike – Scottish National Party (SNP)
CAMPBELL, Kate – Scottish National Party (SNP)
CAMPBELL, Mary – Scottish Green Party
CHILD, Maureen – Scottish Labour Party
LAIDLAW, Callum – Scottish Conservative and Unionist
LESLIE, Callum – Scottish Liberal Democrats
WALKER, David – Scottish Labour Party

Andrew Kerr, Chief Executive of the City of Edinburgh Council and Returning Officer for Edinburgh, said:

If you haven’t yet registered to vote in these Local Government Elections, it’s not too late – go to yourvotematters.co.uk and find out everything you need to know. The deadline for registration is 17 April.

Remember that due to ward boundary changes, you might have a different polling place this time. Check your polling card carefully or use the online tool to find out where to vote on 4 May.

Find out more on where, when and how to vote.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.